Advice to Youth Response Blog #16

The story “Advice to Youth” by Mark Twain is about giving advice to the younger generation. Most of his advice is pretty much full of wisdom and it is mostly true. I feel that as a young adult there are so many types of advice that someone can give us. Whether it is good advice or bad advice there is more than a one hundred percent chance that this will be absorbed and taken in consideration. But the difference between Twain’s advice to anyone else’s is that his is smart, instructive and full of wisdom. He states that in order to have positivity you need to follow these steps, ” If a person offends you, and you are in doubt as to whether it was intentional or not, do not resort it to extreme measures, simply watch your chance and him with a brick”. I found this quite humerous because sometimes when someone has said something hurtful or offensive to me I just let it slide. But when it’s too far I build up anger inside of me that make me want to punch them, but I don’t because anger and violence is not always the answer. Even if we have the fire building up and getting bigger there is no need for anything to get more chaotic. Another thing that stood out to me was the advice to respect your elders. “Be respectful to your superiors, if you have any, also to strangers, and sometimes to others”. For me, this is very important because in my family, I was brought up to respect my elders. This is because elders are people who have worked all of their lives and have gone through alot of hardships in order to be what they are now and  one of the main reasons that people should respect elders is because they have lived more then anyone who is not more then eighteen years old, tired and willing to do anything that they can do. When they tell you something it is simply because they are trying to help you and don’t want you to end up having difficulties later in the future. Overall, Twain made remarkable points in which he lived by and knowing this makes me want to follow it because not only is this useful but it can help you have a more happy and positive life.

Leave a comment